Identity and metropolitan Torino


As part of its mobilization campaign, Torino Internazionale is promoting the project ‘Identità della Torino Metropolitana’, a photographic survey of the Torino metropolitan area by five photographers from Torino, selected to explore and give their interpretation of the metropolitan area.
The five photographers selected for the project are: Francesca Cirilli; Mariano Dallago; Antonio La Grotta; Elena Muzzarelli; and Marco Saroldi. They are led by Olga Gambari, curator and art critic.
The photographic project got underway on 18th March, 2014. The project involves several working stages, including analysis, training and planning to prepare the photographers to give their interpretation of the 38 municipalities represented on the Metropolitan Area Committee for the strategic plan. The photographers met with the participating municipalities and precincts of Torino on 18th, 20th and 25th March at encounters arranged within the scope of the Metropolitan Area Committee’s activities, so as to see and observe the municipalities at work. In April and May the photographers will instead turn to the streets to capture glimpses of the local landscape, architecture and community and create a liberal, unofficial map of the metropolitan area. The aim of that map will be to provide insight into and restore the many facets of identity that exist side by side in the area, traces of the old and of the new, elements of transformation and critical issues. The result will be 150 photographs narrating the characteristic traits and uniqueness of a metropolitan community that lives, produces and consumes.


The project is designed to strengthen the Association’s efforts in preparing and disseminating a strategy for the local metropolitan area. In this sense, the photographic report is a means of conveying and raising awareness in the community and in decision-makers of the Torino metropolitan area today, through a plurality of perspectives and points of view. The project is also conceived as a means of consultation for the metropolitan municipalities involved in strategic planning efforts, while having its own intrinsic cultural value.

Participating municipalities

Alpignano, Baldissero Torinese, Beinasco, Borgaro Torinese, Brandizzo, Bruino, Cambiano, Candiolo, Caselle, Castiglione, Chieri, Collegno, Druento, Gassino Torinese, Grugliasco, La Loggia, Leinì, Moncalieri, Nichelino, Orbassano, Pecetto Torinese, Pianezza, Pino Torinese, Piossasco, Rivalta di Torino, Rivoli, Rosta, San Gillio, San Mauro Torinese, San Raffaele Cimena, Settimo Torinese, Torino, Trofarello, Venaria Reale, Villarbasse, Vinovo, Volpiano, Volvera.